Making the Fourth a Blast
Jul 17, 2008 | 890 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print

The Fourth of July Parade is a longstanding tradition dating back to the 1800s. While we are certain that this parade would occur even if there was no committee to organize it, we try to assure that specific things happen and that requires the involvement of quite a few people.

The banner across Colorado Ave. gets hung, a singer for the National Anthem is secured, the courthouse area is decorated, parade judges are obtained, ribbons for the winning entrants are purchased, flyovers are arranged, cars for dignitaries are borrowed, and volunteers act as safety marshals and banner brigade members. The Town of Telluride's Park & Recreation Department sees that the street is striped, cleaned, and cordoned off where appropriate and the Marshal's Department provides extra holiday personnel to move the crowd safely.

The Fourth of July Parade Committee would like to thank Alpine Bank, the Mountain Village Owners Association, the Town of Telluride, the Daily Planet, and the Telluride Watch for their support. The Telluride Historical Museum and the Visitors Center provide invaluable help by accepting registrations and fielding questions. Our announcers, Mike Hess, Tom Hess, Chip Lenihan, and Rob Balkind (new this year) are masters at thinking on their feet, interviewing entrants and letting everyone know what in the world these people are supposed to represent!

In addition, the following volunteers are recognized: Lael Fruen (and her friends); Carol Wright; Mary Woodland (and Rachel, Cindy, Sara, Laura , Candace, and Kate); Harley Brooke-Hitching; Kelly Jemison; Jane Badger; Don Wright; Cathe Dyer; Chip Dyer; Chase Dyer; Patrick Lenihan; Peter Cogen; Andy Helk; Steve Palamar; and Stephen Wald.

Of course, our parade entrants are what make the parade so wonderful. Whether locals or visitors, your participation is greatly appreciated and eagerly anticipated.

Thank you, Telluride, for your sense of community that makes the Fourth of July the unique day-long event we treasure.

– Telluride Fourth of July Parade Committee: Susan McKinney, Chip Lenihan, John Hopkins, Francine Cogen, Charles Cramer, Robert Balkind, Joyce Waldman, Roger Young, Richard Wodehouse, Chris Harrison, and Carly Shaw

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet